Error message

The page you requested does not exist. For your convenience, a search was performed using the query american studies association awards ceremony 2012.

We want you to find what you’re looking for on the ASA website. Enter a search term below.

If you’re a member looking for information related to ASA committees, chapters, and caucuses, we invite you to explore ASA Communities and log in to message the members listed as leaders for each group.

Critical Disability Studies Caucus Graduate Student Paper Award

The Critical Disability Studies Caucus of the American Studies Association is pleased to announce the competition for the second annual Critical Disability Studies Graduate Student Paper Award. Graduate students who have had papers accepted for the 2017 annual meeting may compete for the award. The members of the prize committee are: Julie Passanante Elman (Chair), Kelly Fritsch, and David Serlin.

Submissions may deal with any aspect of critical disability studies as it intersects with American Studies. Papers that have been previously presented or accepted for publication are ineligible. The prize includes a certificate and recognition at the annual meeting...

Yasuo Sakakibara Prize

About the Yasuo Sakakibara Prize

The Yasuo Sakakibara Prize honors the best paper presented by an international scholar at the annual meeting of the American Studies Association. Recipients of the award receive $500. The prize winner is announced at the awards ceremony at the annual meeting.

The prize honors Yasuo Sakakibara, Professor Emeritus of Economics and first chair of the Graduate School in American Studies at Doshisha University and a past president of the Japanese Association for American Studies.

Eligibility Requirements and Application Procedures

Who is eligible: International scholars who have had papers accepted for the annual meeting and who...

2017 National Book Award for Outstanding Work about the American Civil Rights Movement

Sunday, December 31, 2017

The Benjamin L. Hooks Institute for Social Change Call for Nominations for the 2017 National Book Award for Outstanding Work about the American Civil Rights Movement and Its Legacy Book Award Nominations Must Be Postmarked by December 31, 2017

The Benjamin L. Hooks Institute for Social Change at the University of Memphis (Memphis, TN) is soliciting nominations for its annual National Book Award. In 1996, University of Memphis officials received approval from the Tennessee Board of Regents to create the Benjamin L. Hooks Institute for Social Change. The Institute is dedicated to Teaching, Studying, and Promoting Civil Rights and Social Change. Hooks Institute archives include Dr. Hooks’ personal papers,...

Two-Year Postdoctoral Teaching Fellowships

January 19, 2018
Starting Date: 
Saturday, August 25, 2018

The College of the Holy Cross invites applications for two postdoctoral teaching fellowships for a two-year term to begin in August 2018. The first position will be in Asian American and Asian Diasporic studies, and the second will be in the Study of Race and Ethnicity. Each fellow will teach three courses per year. These full-time fellowships offer a competitive salary and full benefits, conference travel support, and a $2000 faculty development account to support scholarship. Renewal for the second year will be contingent on a successful first-year review. A key priority of this fellowship is to encourage scholars from...

ASA Awards and Prizes

The American Studies Association recognizes scholarship, teaching, mentorship, and public service through its annual awards and prizes. 

Prize Category Deadline
John Hope Franklin Prize Best Book March 1
Lora Romero Prize Best First Book  March 1
Ralph Henry Gabriel Prize Best Dissertation  June 1
Bode-Pearson Prize Outstanding Contribution to American Studies June 30
Angela Y. Davis Prize Outstanding Public Scholarship June 30
Mary C. Turpie Prize Teaching, Advising, and Program Development in American Studies June 30
Wize-Susman Prize Best Student Paper at the Annual Meeting Oct 8

Richard A. Yarborough Award

About the Richard A. Yarborough Award

The Minority Scholars Committee of the American Studies Association's Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award honors a scholar who demonstrates dedication to and excellence in mentoring. The award honors Richard A. Yarborough, an American historian and literary critic whose focuses include African-American literature and nineteenth and twentieth century American literature. He co-edits the Heath Anthology of American Literature series and teaches at the University of California, Los Angeles. He was awarded the inaugural prize for his consistent dedication to mentoring and advising minority scholars....

Lecturers on History and Literature

January 9, 2018
Starting Date: 
Sunday, July 1, 2018

The Committee on Degrees in History and Literature at Harvard University seeks Full-Time and Half-Time Lecturers beginning academic year 2018-2019. 

Our teaching fields are: American Studies, Ethnic Studies, European Studies, Latin American Studies, the Medieval World, the Early Modern World, and the Modern World. We are especially interested in candidates whose research interests include race, ethnicity, gender and sexuality, comparative or transnational approaches, and who can teach multiple geographic areas and historical periods. 

Minimum Requirements: strong interdisciplinary background; doctoral degree and teaching experience; ability to design and execute interdisciplinary tutorial programs for sophomores and juniors, as well as direct senior...

American Studies Association of Texas

The American Studies Association of Texas, founded in 1956, is the Texas regional affiliate of the national American Studies Association. It is dedicated to the study of and promotion of all areas of American studies.

The ASAT holds yearly conferences, publishes a journal (JASAT: Journal of the American Studies Association of Texas), and supports all aspects of American studies in the State of Texas. However, its membership is not limited to people residing in or near Texas. It draws members from all over the United States.

For news and updates about ASAT, check out our blog....

Mid-America American Studies Association

The Mid-America American Studies Association (MAASA) encompasses eleven states, including Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin, in the mid-continent area. American Studies Association members residing in the region are automatically MAASA members. Others can become members by checking the appropriate box on the ASA membership form.

MAASA's purposes are to foster the study of American culture in all its aspects, to provide a forum for communication and discussion among its members and the general public, and to promote scholarship by the publication of the journal, American Studies. These ends are to be achieved by...

Chesapeake American Studies Association

The Chesapeake American Studies Association is a regional branch of the American Studies Association. Our membership area includes the greater Washington, D.C. metropolitan area, Richmond, VA, and Baltimore, MD.