The Garfinkel Prize in Digital Humanities is an award that honors caucus founder Susan Garfinkel for her longstanding service to the caucus and her commitment to an inclusive, interdisciplinary, welcoming Digital Humanities. The annual award will recognize excellent work at the intersection of American Studies and Digital Humanities.

The Digital Humanities Caucus welcome submissions from all including college and university faculty; public scholars; university and K-12 educators including contingent faculty; students at the graduate, undergraduate, and even K-12 level; activists; artists; and all other researchers, creators, and thinkers. Projects in pedagogy, research, documentary, critical making, digital art, and all other forms are encouraged.

Submitted projects should have been completed or significantly updated during the calendar year of application. The Digital Humanities Caucus will announce the prize winner at the caucus meeting at the American Studies Association annual meeting, but submitters are not required to present at or to attend the conference.

Submissions are closed for the 2019 Garfinkel Prize. This year’s winner will be announced at the DH Caucus Business Meeting during the ASA Conference in November. Information about the 2020 Garfinkel prize will be available during the summer.

Questions should be directed to Carrie Johnston. If you need to mail materials (ie, if your project cannot be conveyed electronically), please contact us to make arrangements.

2018: Winner: Tara McPherson, Feminist in a Software Lab  | Honorable Mention: Trials, Triumphs, and Transformations: Tennesseans’ Search for Citizenship, Community, and Opportunity 

2017 Winner: Colored Conventions Project  | Honorable Mention: Channel Islands National Park Web resource on Island of the Blue Dolphins / The Lone Woman and Last Indians Digital Archive

2016 Winner: Narratives of Displacement and Resistance, Anti-Eviction Mapping Project | Honorable Mention: Early African American Film: Reconstructing the History of Silent Race Films, 1909-1930