About the Richard A. Yarborough Award

The Minority Scholars Committee of the American Studies Association's Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award honors a scholar who demonstrates dedication to and excellence in mentoring. The award honors Richard A. Yarborough, an American historian and literary critic whose focuses include African-American literature and nineteenth and twentieth century American literature. He co-edits the Heath Anthology of American Literature series and teaches at the University of California, Los Angeles. He was awarded the inaugural prize for his consistent dedication to mentoring and advising minority scholars.

Past Richard Yarborough Awards:

  • 2020 Frances Aparicio, Northwestern University
  • 2019 Richard T. Rodríguez, University of California, Riverside
  • 2018 Lisa Lowe, Yale University
  • 2017 Ruth Wilson Gilmore, The Graduate Center of the City University of New York
  • 2016 Martin F. Manalansan IV, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • 2015 Mark Anthony Neal, Duke University
  • 2014 José Esteban Muñoz, New York University
  • 2013 Paul Spickard, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • 2012 Richard Yarborough, University of California, Los Angeles