In 2002 the Environment and Culture Caucus established the Annette Kolodny Environmental Studies Prize, awarded each year to the best environmentally themed paper presented at the ASA annual meeting. The prize includes a cash award and is generously supported by Orion and Duke University Press.

Submissions are judged by a panel of referees from the ECC, and the prize includes a $100 award. If you would like your environmentally-themed paper from the ASA 2018 annual meeting in Toronto to be considered for the Kolodny Prize, please send the paper as an email attachment (MS Word preferred) to the three referees listed below. Your paper must be received by 11:59 pm on Friday, March 25, 2018.

Only papers presented at the 2018 ASA annual meeting will be considered; do not send book or dissertation chapters on which your paper was based, or any other longer or altered version of your paper.

For information on the “Annette Kolodny Prize,” please contact Charlie Mitchell at

Winners of the Annette Kolodny Prize:

  • 2002 - Jennifer Mason (Skidmore College), “Animals, Animality, and Nineteenth-Century American Literature: Or, Life in the Built Environment”
  • 2003 - C. Greig Crysler (University of California, Berkeley), “From Flesh to Fiberglass: ‘Cows on Parade’ in Chicago”
  • 2004 - Phoebe Kropp (University of Pennsylvania), “Barefoot, Hungry, and Happy: The Bodily Experiences of Camping”
  • 2005 - Finis Dunaway (Trent University), “Gas Masks, Pogo, and the Ecological Indian: Earth Day and the Visual Politics of American Environmentalism”
  • 2006 - Marina Moskowitz (University of Glasgow), “Quality Adapted to the Country: The Place of Horticulture in the Nineteenth Century”
  • 2007 - Erica Hannickel (University of Iowa), An Agricultural Empire of Grapevines: Grape Culture in Antebellum America”
  • 2008 - Giovanna Di Chiro (Mount Holyoke College), “Polluted Politics? Confronting Toxic Discourse, Sex Panic, and Eco-Normativity”
  • 2009 - Ivan Grabovac (Mount Royal University), “Nativism and Nationhood: Migratory Birds, Immigrants, and the Making of Ecological Citizens”
  • 2009 - Jessica Ramsey (University of California, Santa Barbara), “Floating Communities and Contested Belonging: The Flood Narratives of Hurricane Katrina and Richard Wright”
  • 2010 - Stephanie LeMenager (University of California, Santa Barbara), “Aesthetics of Petroleum II: Petro-Melancholia and Gulf Coast Subsidence”
  • 2011 - Michael Lundblad (Colorado State University), “Animality as Refuge: Terry Tempest Williams and the Biopolitics of Terminal Cancer”
  • 2012 - Megan Black (George Washington University), “Guardians of ‘Global’ Resources: Visualizing Energy and Empire in US Government-Sponsored Film, 1949-1956”
  • 2013 - Natasha Zaretsky (Southern Illinois University), “A Crime Against the Future: Fetal Injury, the Unborn, and the Radiation Scare of the 1950s”