Sunday, September 24, 2017 (All day) to Monday, September 25, 2017 (All day)

The Critical Disability Studies Caucus of the American Studies Association is pleased to
announce the competition for the second annual Critical Disability Studies Graduate Student
Paper Award. Graduate students who have had papers accepted for the 2017 annual meeting may
compete for the award. The members of the prize committee include Julie Passanante
Elman (Chair), Kelly Fritsch, and David Serlin.

Submissions may deal with any aspect of critical disability studies as it intersects with
American Studies. Papers that have been previously presented or accepted for publication
are ineligible. The prize includes a certificate and $200 honorarium (generously provided by New
York University Press) and recognition during the Critical Disability Studies Caucus Business
Meeting at the ASA annual meeting in Chicago.

Please submit a single PDF, including the conference paper (3,500 word maximum, including
citations and notes), and a cover page including the author’s name, paper title, institutional
affiliation, and contact information to Patrick McKelvey at on or before
September 24.

Finally, we also strongly encourage all applicants, especially first-time attendees of ASA, to
apply for the Baxter Travel Grant for graduate students (Deadline: October 7).

Community announcements and events are services that are offered by the ASA to support the organizing efforts of critical constituency groups. They do not reflect the decisions or actions of the association’s governance bodies, the National Council or Executive Committee. Questions should be directed to the committee, caucus, or chapter that has authored and posted this notice.