Friday, December 11, 2020 - 1:00pm

This fall, a  group of American Studies program chairs launched a series of monthly conversations among chairs and directors across the U.S. and beyond. Considering the current challenges to higher ed—and in particular to American Studies and related fields—we believe that it is time to share resources, ideas, and support with one another as colleagues and leaders in the field.  Our idea is to convene a few meetings per semester that can bring us together in open dialogue around a theme that affects us all. Although we realize that no one is looking to add more Zoom meetings to their lives, we really do think that these conversations can be engaging and informative alternatives to the typical work calls.

The second in this series of monthly calls will take place via Zoom on Friday, December 11th, at 1pm EST / 12pm CST / 11am MST / 10am PST. The subject of the meeting will be supporting students in the Covid era. 

This will be an open discussion: no panelists, no screenshared powerpoints, a light agenda. And no preparation required. Just bring your own experiences and ideas to the table. We also intend to have an open conversation about issues that we can tackle in future calls. Jason Ruiz will moderate. 

To RSVP, please use this google formWe will be in touch with instructions for accessing the meeting.

We hope to see you at the December 11th meeting and at future meetings.  

Community announcements and events are services that are offered by the ASA to support the organizing efforts of critical constituency groups. They do not reflect the decisions or actions of the association’s governance bodies, the National Council or Executive Committee. Questions should be directed to the committee, caucus, or chapter that has authored and posted this notice.