The Nominating Committee is preparing a ballot for the 2017 annual ASA elections. Members of the American Studies Association are invited to submit recommendations for elected positions. Letters suggesting or recommending a candidate should relate the member’s experience to the association’s work and his or her vitae.

The following positions appear on the 2017 election ballot: president-elect (1 position), member of the council (4 positions), international member of council (1 position), K-12 member of council (1 position), student councilor (1 position), and member of the nominating committee (2 positions).

Please submit your recommendations no later than October 1, 2016, to the Nominating Committee:

Shana Redmond, University of Southern California, Chair 
Mishuana Goeman, University of California, Los Angeles
Jodi Kim, University of California, Riverside  
Karen Leong, Arizona State University
Ernesto Javier Martínez, University of Oregon
Ramón H. Rivera-Servera, Northwestern University  

The final slate must provide representation of the diversity of the Association’s membership. Those nominated must be current members of ASA in order to serve. All persons elected serve three-year terms and will take office on July 1, 2017.

Nominations may also be made by petitions carrying in each case the signatures of at least twenty-five members of the association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. The Chair of the Nominating Committee must receive nominations by petition no later than October 1st. The Chair shall ascertain that all candidates nominated by the committee or by petition have consented to stand for election.

Posted for ASA Office in Opportunities
Post date: September 9, 2016

Community announcements and events are services that are offered by the ASA to support the organizing efforts of critical constituency groups. They do not reflect the decisions or actions of the association’s governance bodies, the National Council or Executive Committee. Questions should be directed to the committee, caucus, or chapter that has authored and posted this notice.