From ASA Atlanta Presidential Address

Voting in the ASA Election is now completed. The following members have been elected to three-year terms that shall last from July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2023.


Cathy J. Schlund-Vials, University of Connecticut


Courtney R. Baker, University of California at Riverside

Ronak K. Kapadia, University of Illinois at Chicago

Marisol LeBrón, University of Texas at Austin

Nitasha Sharma, Northwestern University

Contingent Faculty Councilor

Christiana Ares-Christian, Southern New Hampshire University

International Councilor

Eid Mohamed, Doha Institute for Graduate Studies/University of Guelph

Student Councilor

Bayan Abusneineh, University of California at San Diego

Nominating Committee

Aimee Bahng, Pomona College

Christina Hanhardt, University of Maryland at College Park

The Council extends its appreciation to all those who agreed to run for office, congratulates the new leaders of the Association, and wishes them success in their undertakings over the next three years.

The Council also extends its gratitude to those who are completing their term of service. The councilors and nominating committee members whose terms expire on June 30, 2020 include:


Nick Estes, student representative, University of New Mexico

Roderick Ferguson, past president, Yale University

Laura Sachiko Fugikawa, contingent faculty representative, Colby College

Alyosha Goldstein, University of New Mexico

LaMonda Horton-Stallings, Georgetown University

Lisa B. Thompson, University of Texas, Austin

Deborah Vargas, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Rinaldo Walcott, international representative, University of Toronto, Canada

Nominating Committee

C. Riley Snorton, University of Chicago

Sandra Ruiz, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Review the current roster of board and committee members for more information.

Posted for ASA Office in Press Releases
Post date: March 2, 2020

Community announcements and events are services that are offered by the ASA to support the organizing efforts of critical constituency groups. They do not reflect the decisions or actions of the association’s governance bodies, the National Council or Executive Committee. Questions should be directed to the committee, caucus, or chapter that has authored and posted this notice.