The Nominating Committee is preparing a ballot for the 2020 annual ASA elections. Members of the American Studies Association are invited to submit recommendations for elected positions. Letters suggesting or recommending a candidate should relate the member’s experience to the association’s work and include a short vitae.

The following positions will appear on the 2020 election ballot: president-elect (1 position), councilor (4 positions), contingent faculty representative (1 position), international councilor (1 position), student councilor (1 position), and nominating committee member (2 positions).

Please submit your recommendations no later than November 1, 2019, to the Nominating Committee:

Chair: Jennifer Doyle, University of California, Riverside


Karen Inouye, Indiana University-Bloomington


Shona N. Jackson, Texas A&M University, College Station


Tiffany (Lethabo) King, Georgia State University


C. Riley Snorton, University of Chicago


Sandra Ruiz, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign


The final slate must provide representation of the diversity of the Association’s membership. Those nominated must be current members of ASA in order to serve. All persons elected serve three-year terms and will take office on July 1, 2020.

Nominations may also be made by petitions carrying in each case the signatures of at least twenty-five members of the association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. The Chair of the Nominating Committee must receive nominations by petition no later than November 1st. The Chair shall ascertain that all candidates nominated by the committee or by petition have consented to stand for election.

Posted for ASA Office in Other
Post date: October 1, 2019

Community announcements and events are services that are offered by the ASA to support the organizing efforts of critical constituency groups. They do not reflect the decisions or actions of the association’s governance bodies, the National Council or Executive Committee. Questions should be directed to the committee, caucus, or chapter that has authored and posted this notice.