The Nominating Committee is preparing a ballot for the 2019 annual ASA elections. Members of the American Studies Association are invited to submit recommendations for elected positions. Letters suggesting or recommending a candidate should relate the member’s experience to the association’s work and include a short vitae.

The following positions will appear on the 2019 election ballot: president-elect (1 position), councilor (5 positions), student councilor (1 position), and nominating committee member (2 positions).

Please submit your recommendations no later than October 1, 2018, to the Nominating Committee:

Chair: Ernesto Javier Martínez, University of Oregon

Jennifer Doyle, University of California, Riverside

Mishuana Goeman, University of California, Los Angeles

Karen Inouye, Indiana University-Bloomington

C. Riley Snorton, Cornell University

Sandra Ruiz, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

The final slate must provide representation of the diversity of the Association’s membership. Those nominated must be current members of ASA in order to serve. All persons elected serve three-year terms and will take office on July 1, 2019.

Nominations may also be made by petitions carrying in each case the signatures of at least twenty-five members of the association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. The Chair of the Nominating Committee must receive nominations by petition no later than October 1st. The Chair shall ascertain that all candidates nominated by the committee or by petition have consented to stand for election.

Posted for ASA Office in Other
Post date: August 30, 2018