The American Studies Association brings together one of the most dynamic communities of scholars engaged in original research on a variety of topics as they relate to the interdisciplinary study of U.S. cultures and histories. The Distinguished Speakers' Bureau draws upon respected members within the ASA community and shares the work of these scholars with your institution or organization for public talks, conferences, seminars, and other speaking events.

How it works: Speakers donate their time to the Bureau. Host institutions pay a $1,500 speaker's fee directly to the ASA, in addition to the speaker's travel and lodging expenses. All fees go to support the Community Partnership Fund, a competitive grants program open to members working in collaboration with community-based organizations, school districts, public libraries, local historical societies, community museums, and other non-profit entities.

2019-2020 Speakers


Request a Speaker

If you or your institution would like to arrange a speaker, contact the Office of the Executive Director. The earlier arrangements are made the better chance you have of obtaining the speaker of your choice. 


EmaiL US