About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2015 submission site. (Current members only).

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's


Feb. 1 | CFP 2015 Annual Meeting
Click here. The submission site will automatically shut down at 11:59 PM (Pacific) on February 1, 2015.

Mar. 1 | Vote in the 2015 ASA Election
All votes must be cast by 11:59pm EST on March 01, 2015

Mar. 1 | 2015 Franklin Prize
Nominations for 2015 John Hope Franklin Publication Prize for the best-published book in American Studies due

Mar. 1 | 2015 Romero Prize
Nominations for 2015 Lora Romero Publication Prize for the best-published first book in American Studies due.

Mar. 1 | 2015 Community Partnership Grants
Applications for the 2015 Community Partnership Grants Program to assist American Studies collaborative, interdisciplinary community projects due

Annual Meeting: General Information

Travel Grants for Graduate Students

Annette K. Baxter Travel Grants

The grants provide partial travel reimbursement of $300 to advanced graduate students who are members of the ASA by April 1, 2015 and will travel to the 2015 convention in order to present a paper on the annual meeting program. The ASA will also reimburse the recipients of the Baxter Grants for their conference registration fee. The ASA is particularly concerned with helping students who have no support for convention attendance from their institutions or other sources, who incur substantial costs for travel to and from the convention, and who have not received travel reimbursement from the ASA in a prior year.

Submissions for 2015

Letters of application must reach the ASA by September 8, 2015, by mail to the Office of the Executive Director, 1120 19th St. NW, Ste. 301, Washington, D.C. 20036, or by fax to 202-467-4786. Fax and PDF transmissions may be used to meet the deadline, but signed letters must follow them. (Applications by e-mail will not be accepted.) Each letter should include a brief statement by the student describing what university sources of funding, if any, are available. Each letter should stipulate that he or she has no external support for travel to the convention from these or other funds. Each letter should also include a statement signed by the applicant’s dissertation director or department chair confirming that he or she is enrolled in a graduate program at the signer’s institution. The letter of application should also state the applicant’s paper and session title, as it will appear on the program.  Finally, each applicant must attach a copy of his or her registration receipt in order to receive reimbursement. Late applications will not be accepted.

Submit application via our online form


Annette K. Baxter Student Convention Travel Grants are funded through a program of voluntary contributions. The ASA is committed to a very active solicitation of members’ contributions by a fund-raising campaign designed to underscore the importance of subsidizing and encouraging graduate student participation. Members can do this now by checking a space on the conference registration form (click here) or on the dues remittance form to indicate that members have added to their registration or dues payments a tax-deductible contribution to the fund.  The American Studies Association is a 501 (3c) not-for-profit organization chartered in the District of Columbia eligible to receive tax deductible donations and contributions.