About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2015 submission site. (Current members only).

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's


Feb. 1 | CFP 2015 Annual Meeting
Click here. The submission site will automatically shut down at 11:59 PM (Pacific) on February 1, 2015.

Mar. 1 | Vote in the 2015 ASA Election
All votes must be cast by 11:59pm EST on March 01, 2015

Mar. 1 | 2015 Franklin Prize
Nominations for 2015 John Hope Franklin Publication Prize for the best-published book in American Studies due

Mar. 1 | 2015 Romero Prize
Nominations for 2015 Lora Romero Publication Prize for the best-published first book in American Studies due.

Mar. 1 | 2015 Community Partnership Grants
Applications for the 2015 Community Partnership Grants Program to assist American Studies collaborative, interdisciplinary community projects due

Committee Awards and Prizes

The standing committees may propose prizes to be awarded to the constituencies they represent within the American Studies Association. Such prizes may be established subject to the approval of the Council. The sponsoring committee will administer them. The sponsoring committee may raise funds to support the prize. The Association may not fund these prizes except that a standing committee may apply its $1,000 discretionary budget to this end.

The recipients may be included on the ASA electronic press release, to be distributed prior to the annual meeting, in the ASA e-newsletter, and on the committee’s website. The prize lists will be due on October 1st. The committee prizes should be announced at committee events. Only prizes awarded by an ASA prize committee may be presented at the annual awards ceremony preceding the presidential address at the convention.

Comparative Ethnic Studies Prize

The ASA Committee on Ethnic Studies awards the Comparative Ethnic Studies Prize each year for the best paper to be presented at the annual meeting that highlights from a global or comparative perspective the power of race/ethnicity to shape the lives of diverse groups of people.

Gloria E. Anzaldua Award for Independent Scholars, Contingent or Community College Faculty

The ASA Women’s Committee awards the Gloria E. Anzaldua Prize to an independent scholar and/or contingent or community college faculty member who demonstrates an affinity with Anzaldua’s oeuvre, vision, or political commitments and who addresses connections among some or all of the following categories:  race, ethnicity, citizenship, class, gender, sexuality, and dis/ability.

Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award

The ASA Minority Scholars Committee awards the Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award to honor a scholar who, like Richard Yarborough, demonstrates dedication to and excellence in mentoring underrepresented faculty, postdoctoral fellows, and/or college, university or high school students.