About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2014 submission site. (Closed)

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's


May. 20 | 2014 Gabriel Prize
Nominations for 2014 Ralph Henry Gabriel Prize for the best doctoral dissertation in American Studies due

Jun. 30 | 2014 Angela Y. Davis Prize
Nominations for the 2014 Angela Y. Davis Prize for Public Scholarship due

Jun. 30 | 2014 Bode-Pearson Prize
Nominations for the 2014 Bode-Pearson Prize for Outstanding Contributions to American Studies due

Jun. 30 | 2014 Mary C. Turpie Prize
Nominations for the 2014 Turpie Prize for Outstanding Teaching, Advising, and Program Development in American studies due

Prizes and Grants

The Gloria E. Anzaldua Award for Independent Scholars, Contingent or Community College Faculty 2013

The Women’s Committee calls for submissions to the fourth annual Gloria E. Anzaldua Award for Independent Scholars, Contingent or Community College Faculty.  Hosted by the American Studies Association, this award honors Anzaldua’s outstanding career as an independent scholar and her labor as contingent faculty, along with her groundbreaking contributions to scholarship on women of color and to queer theory.  The award includes a lifetime membership in the ASA, a lifetime electronic subscription to American Quarterly, and $500. Applicants must work in American studies or a related field and work as independent scholars and/or as faculty at community colleges or in a contingent capacity (i.e., as part-time or full-time non-ladder-rank or non-tenure-track instructors, adjuncts, or lecturers).  Graduate students are ineligible.  The winner will be announced at the Women’s Breakfast during the annual meeting of the association to be held November 21-24, 2013, Washington, DC.


To apply, applicants should submit an unpublished paper that does not exceed 25 pages, including endnotes and bibliography, and a two-page vita.  Relevant submissions will demonstrate an affinity with Anzaldua’s oeuvre, vision, or political commitments and should address connections among some or all of the following categories:  race, ethnicity, citizenship, class, gender, sexuality, and dis/ability.  Eligible participants in the ASA annual meeting are encouraged to apply. Papers and CVs must be submitted electronically by September 1, 2013, to the committee chair, Deborah E. Whaley, (deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu). Late submissions will not be accepted.


The Gloria E. Anzaldua Award for Independent Scholars, Contingent or Community College Faculty is funded through a program of voluntary contributions. The ASA is committed to a very active solicitation of members’ contributions to underscore the importance of subsidizing and encouraging the participation of independent scholars and contingent or community college faculty in the annual meeting,  Members can do this now (click here) or on the dues remittance form to indicate that members have added to their registration or dues payments a tax-deductible contribution to the fund. The American Studies Association is a 501 (3c) not-for-profit organization chartered in the District of Columbia eligible to receive tax deductible donations and contributions.

Gloria E. Anzaldua Award Recipients

  • 2012: Abigail Manzella, Stern College For Women, Yeshiva University
  • 2011: Jennifer A. Reimer, University of California, Berkeley, ‚ÄúDisordering the Border: Harryette Mullen’s Transaborder Poetics in Muse & Drudge
  • 2010: Lori Harrison-Kahan, Boston College, honorable mention: Sarah Eden Schiff, Agnes Scott College
  • 2009: Smadar Lavie, Staying Put: Crossing the Israel-Palestine Border with Gloria Anzaldua,  now available in Anthropology and Humanism, Volume 36, Issue 1, pages 101-121, June 2011