About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2014 submission site. (Closed)

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's

From the Editors

ASA 2013 Awards Ceremony

The American Studies Association is proud to recognize the continuing high level of scholarship examining our American cultures.  We ask all members of the Association to join in congratulating their fellow members honored at this year’s award ceremony, to be held on Friday, November 22, 2013, at the ASA convention. 

The 2013 Constance Rourke Prize
Chair: Franny Nudelman, Carleton University
Rick Baldoz, Oberlin College
Kathleen Donegan, University of California, Berkeley

The Constance Rourke Prize has been awarded annually since 1987 for the best article published in American Quarterly.  The winner of this year’s prize is Jana Lipman for her article ” ‘Give us a Ship’: The Vietnamese Repatriate Movement on Guam, 1975,” 64:1 (March 2012).

The 2013 Ralph Henry Gabriel Dissertation Prize
Chair: Maria Cotera, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Theresa Runstedtler, American University
Gayle Wald, George Washington University

The Ralph Henry Gabriel Dissertation Prize, established in 1974, has been awarded annually since 1987 by the Association for the best dissertation in American Studies.

The winner of this year’s prize is Maile Arvin (University of California, San Diego - Ethnic Studies) for “Pacifically Possessed: Scientific Production and Native Hawaiian Critique of the “Almost White” Polynesian Race.”

Finalist mention goes to Dara Orenstein (Yale University- American Studies) for her dissertation: “Offshore Onshore: A History of the Free Zone on US Soil.”

The 2013 Gene Wise - Warren Susman Prize
Chair: Magdalena Zaborowska, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Beth Piatote, University of California, Berkeley
Carlo Rotella, Boston College

The Gene Wise - Warren Susman Prize is awarded each year for the best paper to be presented by a graduate student at the annual meeting.  The winning paper may deal with any aspect of American history, literature, or culture, but should reflect the breadth, the critical imagination, the intellectual boldness, and the cross-disciplinary perspective so strongly a part of the scholarship of both Gene Wise and Warren Susman. 

The 2013 prizewinner is Rabia Belt (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor), “What Does Citizenship Mean for People with Mental Disabilities?”

Finalist mention goes to: Chloe Taft (Yale University), “The Postindustrial Factory: Seeking Continuity in Casino Work at a Former Steel Plant.”

The 2013 Yasuo Sakakibara Prize
Chair: Catherine Ceniza Choy, University of California, Berkeley
Christina Klein, Boston College
Jean Pfaelzer, University of Delaware

The Yasuo Sakakibara Prize is awarded annually for the best paper to be presented by an international scholar at the annual meeting.  The winning paper may deal with any aspect of American history, culture, or society. 

The 2013 prizewinner is Ethan Blue, University of Western Australia, “The Deportation Special: Mobile Carceral Space and the Emergence of Mass Deportation.”

The 2013 Lora Romero First Book Publication Prize
Chair: Edward Blum, San Diego State University
Adriane Lentz-Smith, Duke University
Jeffrey Melnick, University of Massachusetts, Boston

The Lora Romero First Book Publication Prize was established in 2002 and is awarded annually for the best-published first book in American Studies that highlights the intersections of race with gender, class, sexuality and/or nation. 

The 2013 winner is Kyla Wazana Tompkins, Racial Indigestion: Eating Bodies in the Nineteenth Century (New York University Press)

Finalist mention goes to:

Adria L Imada, Aloha America: Hula Circuits through the American Empire (Duke University Press)
Brigit Brander Rasmussen, Queequeg’s Coffin: Indigenous Literacies and Early American Literature (Oxford University Press)
Cynthia Wu, Chang and Eng Reconnected: The Original Siamese Twins in American Culture (Temple University Press)

The 2013 John Hope Franklin Publication Prize
Chair: Alex Weheliye, Northwestern University
Margot Canaday, Princeton University
Helen Jun, University of Illinois, Chicago

The John Hope Franklin Publication Prize was established in 1986 and has been awarded annually for the best book published in American Studies.

The 2013 prizewinner is Lisa Marie Cacho, Social Death: Racialized Rightlessness and the Criminalization of the Unprotected (New York University Press)

Finalist mention goes to:

Kornel S. Chang, Pacific Connections: The Making of the U.S.-Canadian Borderlands (University of California Press) 
Mabel O. Wilson, Negro Building: Black Americans in the World of Fairs and Museums (University of California Press) 

The 2013 Angela Davis Prize
Chair:  Mary Helen Washington, University of Maryland, College Park
Michelle Mitchell, New York University
David Roediger, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Sonia Saldivar-Hull, University of Texas, San Antonio

The Angela Davis Award for Public Scholarship recognizes scholars who have applied or used their scholarship for the “public good.” This includes work that explicitly aims to educate the lay public, influence policies, or in other ways seeks to address inequalities in imaginative, practical, and applicable forms.

The 2013 prizewinner is George Lipsitz, University of California, Santa Barbara.

The 2013 Mary C. Turpie Award
Chair: Eva Cherniavsky, University of Washington
Gary Holcomb, Ohio University
Lois Rudnick, University of Massachusetts, Boston

Annually, the American Studies Association gives the Mary C. Turpie Award, established in 1993, to a person who has demonstrated outstanding abilities and achievement in American Studies teaching, advising, and program development at the local or regional level.

The 2013 prizewinner is Joy Kasson, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

The 2013 Carl Bode-Norman Holmes Pearson Prize
Chair: Miles Orvell, Temple University
Irene Ramalho Santos, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Cecelia Tichi, Vanderbilt University

The Carl Bode-Norman Holmes Pearson Prize honors lifetime achievement in and contribution to the field of American Studies. Each year’s prize committee is instructed to consider afresh the meaning of a “lifetime contribution to American Studies.” The definitions of terms like “contribution” and even of “American Studies” remain open, healthily contested, and thus renewed. 

The 2013 prizewinner is Alfred Hornung, University of Mainz, Germany.

Page 1 of 1 pages