About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2015 submission site. (Current members only).

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's

Member Tools

We're sorry. You are not yet a member of the Women’s Committee.

Register or login to join this group.

MAIN | Reports | Contact | Contact Members

Women’s Committee

Come join the Women’s Committee at our sponsored events at the Washington, DC ASA Meeting

The Women’s Committee of the American Studies Association would like to invite you to our annual brunch on 23 November 2013 (Saturday), 10-11:45 am, Washington Hilton, Cabinet (C).

This event offers a wonderful opportunity to network with colleagues and to hear groundbreaking scholarship in the area of women’s, ethnic, and cultural studies.

Our keynote this year is by Aimee Carrillo Rowe, who will present: “So Much Basura!: Medicating Imperial Trauma, Mediating the Sacred.”

(please note that this is a ticketed event.)

Go here to register   http://bit.ly/15LLAap


The Women’s Committee also encourages you to attend our two sponsored panels at this year’s annual meeting:

ASA Women’s Committee Panel 1: Critical Conjunctures of Debt: Women of Color, Healthcare Disparities, and Advocacy
Sat Nov 23 2013, 2:00 to 3:45pm, Building/Room: Washington Hilton / Jefferson West (C)

Panelists: Alondra Nelson, Columbia University (panel chair), Shirley Tang, University of Massachusetts, Boston, Jacki Rand, University of Iowa, and Koritha Mitchell, Ohio State University.

ASA Women’s Committee Panel 2: Countering Debt with Cultural Indebtedness: Trans/National Visualizations of Dis/Empire
Scheduled Time: Sat Nov 23 2013, 12:00 to 1:45pm, Building/Room: Washington Hilton / Georgetown West (C)

Panelists: Jean Pfaelzer, University of Delaware (panel chair), Jeannette Eileen Jones, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Elisabeth Maurer, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Clayton Colmon, University of Delaware, Carmen Méndez García, Complutense University, Madrid, and Birgit Bauridl, University of Regensburg.

The Women’s Committee welcomes ideas for future panels and suggestions for other work we might undertake.  Please feel free to write to Deborah Whaley, the current Women’s Committee chair, at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) with suggestions.


Women’s Committee
Chair: Deborah Elizabeth Whaley, University of Iowa
Co-Chair: Birgit Bauridl, Universitat Regensburg, Germany
Amy L. Brandzel, University of New Mexico
Councilor: Lisa Duggan, ex officio, New York University
Nihad M. Farooq, Georgia Institute of Technology
Asimina Karavanta, University of Athens, Greece
Julie Goodspeed-Chadwick, Indiana University-Purdue University
Carly A. Kocurek, Illinois Institute of Technology
Fusako Ogata, Tezukayama University, Japan
Kyla Tompkins, Pomona College

Deborah Whaley
ASA Women’s Committee Chair and Associate Professor
American Studies, University of Iowa
129 E. Washington St., Jefferson Building Room 724
Iowa City, IA 52242
Email:  .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

By dewhaley, Mon, October 28, 2013 - 1:05 pm

Add Your Comment


(not published)

(not published)


Submit the word you see below:

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?