About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2015 submission site. (Current members only).

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's

Member Tools

We're sorry. You are not yet a member of the Minority Scholars Committee.

Register or login to join this group.

MAIN | Reports | Contact | Contact Members

Minority Scholars Committee

The association shall have as one of its standing committees the Minority Scholars’ Committee. The Minority Scholars’ Committee shall have as its function to keep the Council and the association’s membership informed of the issues affecting minority scholars in the profession and shall have responsibility for special tasks involving minority scholars in the membership. The Minority Scholars’ Committee shall be composed of six members of the association named by the Executive Committee with the approval of the Council, following an open call to the membership for self-nominations and suggestions. Each of these six members shall serve three-year, non-renewable, staggered terms. The chair of the Minority Scholars’ Committee shall be named from the committee’s membership by the Executive Committee with the approval of the Council and shall serve a single term not to exceed three years. The executive director shall, ex officio, be a member of the Minority Scholars’ Committee.

Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award

subscribe to this blog's RSS feedCommunity Blog

Minority Scholars Breakfast

Please join us for the Minority Scholars’ Committee Mentoring Breakfast as we present our third annual Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award posthumously to ASA Program Committee co-chair, José E. Muñoz.  The breakfast will be held on Saturday, November 8, 8:00 am - 10:00 am, in the Avalon Room (L3) at the Westin Bonaventure.  We invite all minority students and faculty, and their allies, to celebrate Dr. Muñoz, make new friends, and consolidate existing mentoring networks.  For reservations: click here.

Read full entry

Richard A. Yarborough Prize

The Minority Scholars’ Committee of the American Studies Association invites nominations for the 2014 Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award. The prize was established in 2012, and will honor a scholar who, like Richard Yarborough, demonstrates dedication to and excellence in mentoring. The winner will be announced at the Mentoring Breakfast of the Minority Scholars’ Committee during the annual meeting of the association to be held November 5-9, 2014, in Los Angeles.

Read full entry

Main issues affecting minority scholars?

Okay, I’ll be the first. Since I’m new to this venue, and would like to participate, I am wondering what this forum believes to be the main issues affecting minority scholars? And are these different from issues in the past few years?

Read full entry