About these images

MAIN | Resources | Reports | Contact | Contact Members

International Committee

The International Committee has as its function to keep the Council and the association’s membership informed of the issues affecting international scholars and students in the profession and has responsibility for special tasks involving international scholars and students in the membership. The International Committee is composed of fifteen members of the association, one of whom is the international member of the Council. The fourteen non-Council members are named by the Executive Committee with the approval of the Council, following an open call to the membership for self-nominations and suggestions. Each of these fourteen members serve three-year, non-renewable, staggered terms. Five of these members come from, and represent the interests of, the five separate regions of the world. The chair of the International Committee is named from the committee’s membership by the Executive Committee with the approval of the Council and serves a single term not to exceed three years. Contact: Udo Hebel

International Committee
(The term end date is June 30 of the year indicated in parentheses)

Chair: Udo Hebel, University of Regensburg, Germany (2016)

Councilor: Laura Briggs,ex officio, University of Massachusetts, Amherst (2017)

Rashida K. Braggs, Williams College (2016)

Hsinya Huang, National Sun Yat-sen University Kaohsiung, Taiwan (2017)

Robert McKee Irwin, University of California, Davis (2017)

Alex Lubin, University of New Mexico (2017)

Scott Morgensen, Queen’s College, Canada (2016)

Jennifer Reimer, Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey (2018)

Oliver Scheiding, Johannes Gutenberg Universitšt, Germany (2017)

Bryce Traister, Western University, Canada (2017)

Executive Director: John F. Stephens, ex officio, American Studies Association

A list of former members of the ASA International Committee can be found here

subscribe to this blog's RSS feedCommunity Blog

[CIES Fulbright] Opportunities in American Studies

This year, the Fulbright Scholar Program is again offering over 60 awards in the field of American Studies. Exciting opportunities are available in many countries including but not limited to:

For further awards in the field of American Studies, American History and American Literature, please visit our updated Opportunities in American Studies webpage. There you will find award highlights and examples of successful projects in the discipline.

For eligibility factors, detailed application guidelines and review criteria, please follow this link: http://cies.org/program/core-fulbright-us-scholar-program. You may also wish to register for one of our webinars or join our online community, My Fulbright, a resource center for applicants interested in the program.

Applicants must be U.S. citizens and the current competition will close on August 3, 2015.

Read full entry

CFP: Biennial EAAS Conference, 22-25 April, 2016, Constanta, Romania

Proposals in all areas of American Studies are now cordially invited for the 2016 European Association for American Studies (EAAS) conference! The biennial EAAS conference will take place from 22 to 25 April 2016 in the lovely coastal town of Constanta, Romania.

Download the 2016 EAAS Call for Proposals (pdf version) here. The Call may also be found at the conference website and proposals may be submitted at any time between now and 15 June 2015 via the easy-to-use online form at http://www.enl.auth.gr/abstracts/index.html.

With this open-call for proposals the 2016 EAAS conference creates the context for wide-ranging explorations of our subject landscape without limiting the opportunity for in-depth concentration and innovative co-operations. Your EAAS colleagues trust that the invitation to join our meeting in 2016 will inspire you to submit a proposal and to take part in this important biennial meeting. We look forward to seeing you in Constanta.

Read full entry

International Partnership Luncheon

Please join us for the annual International Partnership Luncheon at this year’s annual meeting in Los Angeles. The luncheon will be held on Thursday, November 6, 2014, 12:00 pm - 1:45 pm, in the Lakeview Bistro at the Westin Bonaventure. Come have lunch with us and discover the International Initiative, which will enable you and your university to effectively connect with international scholars and institutions abroad. For reservations, click here.

Read full entry

Postdocs in the Humanities at German Universities for US Scholars

Dear Colleagues,

I want to bring to your attention a program of the Volkswagen and Mellon Foundations that provides opportunities for recent PhDs from US universities to be affiliated for one year with universities and research institutes in Germany:† http://www.volkswagenstiftung.de/en/funding/international-focus/post-doctoral-fellowships-in-the-humanities.html.† The institutions participating seek applications in a number of fields, including archaeology, history, literature, bibliography, Asian studies, Middle Eastern studies, African studies, religion, art history, cultural studies, history of science, medieval studies and the humanities generally.

The deadline for applications is October 15th.

Read full entry