About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2015 submission site. (Current members only).

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's

Member Tools

We're sorry. You are not yet a member of the Ethnic Studies Committee.

Register or login to join this group.

MAIN | Reports | Contact | Contact Members

Ethnic Studies Committee

2012 Comparative Ethnic Studies Essay Prize Recipient

The ASA’s Standing Committee on Ethnic Studies is delighted to announce that the recipient of the 2012 Comparative Ethnic Studies Essay Prize is Allan Lumba (History, U of Washington, Seattle) for “Gold Nations: Monetary Crisis and American Economic Knowledge in the Colonial Philippines, 1901-1909,” an essay presented in San Juan as part of the session entitled Imperial Epistemes: Writing, Feeling, Playing Empire.

The Standing Committee on Ethnic Studies thanks and congratulates all entrants for the 2012 Prize; we received a large, diverse and highly competitive collection of excellent entries, which made this year’s selection process both very challenging and very thrilling.

By Ricardo Ortiz, Wed, December 05, 2012 - 10:31 am