About these images

Main | Contact | Contact Members

Environment and Culture Caucus

Liaison: Sarah Wald, SarahDWald@gmail.com

The Environment and Culture Caucus works within the American Studies Association to promote further work on the environment, broadly understood, within the association. We sponsor a panel each year at the ASA national meeting, work to organize numerous other panels on environmental issues at the conference, and engage in a variety of other efforts to raise the profile of environmental work within and around the ASA and American Studies as a field. We are interested in furthering more work that reflects historical and cultural analysis of environmental issues and concerns, and hope to demonstrate the relevance of environmental scholarship to the central issues of race, class, gender, sexuality and colonialism at the heart of much work in American culture studies.

The ECC sponsors the ANNETTE KOLODNY PRIZE for the best paper on an environment and culture theme at the ASA conference. The prize includes a cash award and is generously supported by Orion and Duke University Press. A list of prize winners may be found at the bottom of this page. For information on the “Annette Kolodny Prize,” please contact Charlie Mitchell at cmitchell@elmira.edu

The next ASA meeting will be held in Toronto, Canada, October 8-11, 2015. A list of environmentally themed sessions can be found in the online program available through the ASA website. The two ECC-sponsored sessions are “How American Studies Scholars Can Address Climate Change” (Saturday, October 10, 12:00 to 1:45pm, Sheraton Centre, Linden) and “Crude Production, Hidden Miseries: Reimagining Global Oil’s Commodity Life Cycle” (Saturday, October 10, 4:00 to 5:45pm, Sheraton Centre, Cedar). The annual business meeting will be held Friday, October 9, from 2:00 to 3:45pm in Sheraton Centre, Yorkville East.

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ASAEnvironmentCultureCaucus

To join the Environment and Culture Caucus list-serv, contact the ECC List Administrator at asaecc@gmail.com

Winners of the Annette Kolodny Prize:

Jennifer Mason (Skidmore College), “Animals, Animality, and Nineteenth-Century American Literature: Or, Life in the Built Environment”

C. Greig Crysler (University of California, Berkeley), “From Flesh to Fiberglass: ‘Cows on Parade’ in Chicago”

Phoebe Kropp (University of Pennsylvania), “Barefoot, Hungry, and Happy: The Bodily Experiences of Camping”

Finis Dunaway (Trent University), “Gas Masks, Pogo, and the Ecological Indian: Earth Day and the Visual Politics of American Environmentalism”

Marina Moskowitz (University of Glasgow), “Quality Adapted to the Country: The Place of Horticulture in the Nineteenth Century”

Erica Hannickel (University of Iowa), An Agricultural Empire of Grapevines: Grape Culture in Antebellum America”

Giovanna Di Chiro (Mount Holyoke College), “Polluted Politics? Confronting Toxic Discourse, Sex Panic, and Eco-Normativity”

Ivan Grabovac (Mount Royal University), “Nativism and Nationhood: Migratory Birds, Immigrants, and the Making of Ecological Citizens”
Jessica Ramsey (University of California, Santa Barbara), “Floating Communities and Contested Belonging: The Flood Narratives of Hurricane Katrina and Richard Wright”

Stephanie LeMenager (University of California, Santa Barbara), “Aesthetics of Petroleum II: Petro-Melancholia and Gulf Coast Subsidence”

Michael Lundblad (Colorado State University), “Animality as Refuge: Terry Tempest Williams and the Biopolitics of Terminal Cancer”

Megan Black (George Washington University), “Guardians of ‘Global’ Resources: Visualizing Energy and Empire in US Government-Sponsored Film, 1949-1956”

Natasha Zaretsky (Southern Illinois University), “A Crime Against the Future: Fetal Injury, the Unborn, and the Radiation Scare of the 1950s”

Jessica Cattelino (University of California, Los Angeles), “The Cultural Politics of Invasive Species in the Florida Everglades”

subscribe to this blog's RSS feedCommunity Blog

2014 Annette Kolodny Prize

Announcement of the prize competition for the best paper presented at the 2014 ASA.

Read full entry