About these images


Log in is required on this site ONLY to join an ASA member community group and contribute to the community blogs.

Create an account

Reset your password


Register here for the annual meeting and to begin or renew an ASA membership

Register here to submit a proposal through the ASA's 2014 submission site. (Closed)

Access your ASA membership account at JHU Press including online access to American Quarterly and the Encyclopedia of American Studies Online. Forgot your membership account password

Create an account to join an ASA community. Only current ASA members may contribute to the community blogs. Registration is not required to submit display or text ads or news and events or to view many pages. We will refuse posts that are not of professional interest to ASA members.

Click here for membership FAQ's


Feb. 1 | CFP 2015 Annual Meeting
Click here. The submission site will automatically shut down at 11:59 PM (Pacific) on February 1, 2015.

Mar. 1 | 2015 Franklin Prize
Nominations for 2015 John Hope Franklin Publication Prize for the best-published book in American Studies due

Mar. 1 | 2015 Romero Prize
Nominations for 2015 Lora Romero Publication Prize for the best-published first book in American Studies due.

Mar. 1 | 2015 Community Partnership Grants
Applications for the 2015 Community Partnership Grants Program to assist American Studies collaborative, interdisciplinary community projects due

Mar. 1 | 2015 Regional Chapter Grants
Applications for the 2015 grants program to assist regional American Studies conferences and projects due


Past Presidents, 1951 to Present

Carl Bode, 1951-1952

Charles Barker, 1953

Robert E. Spiller, 1954-1955

George Rogers Taylor, 1956-1957

Willard Thorp, 1958-1959

Ray Allen Billington, 1960-1961

William Charvat, 1962

Ralph Henry Gabriel, 1963-1964

Russel Blaine Nye, 1965-1966

John Hope Franklin, 1967

Norman Holmes Pearson, 1968

Daniel J. Boorstin, 1969

Robert H. Walker, 1970-1971

Daniel Aaron, 1972-1973

William H. Goetzmann, 1974-1975

Leo Marx, 1976-1977

Wilcomb E. Washburn, 1978-1979

Robert F. Berkhofer, Jr., 1980-1981

Sacvan Bercovitch, 1982-1983

Michael Cowan, 1984-1985

Lois W. Banner, 1986-1987

Linda K. Kerber, 1988-1989

Allen F. Davis, 1989-1990

Martha Banta, 1990-1991

Alice Kessler-Harris, 1991-1992

Cecelia Tichi, 1992-1993

Cathy N. Davidson, 1993-1994

Paul Lauter, 1994-1995

Elaine Tyler May, 1995-1996

Patricia Nelson Limerick, 1996-1997

Mary Helen Washington, 1997-1998

Janice Radway, 1998-1999

Mary C. Kelley, 1999-2000

Michael Frisch, 2000-2001

George Sanchez, 2001-2002

Stephen H. Sumida, 2002-2003

Amy Kaplan, 2003-2004

Shelley Fisher Fishkin, 2004-2005

Karen Halttunen, 2005-2006

Emory Elliott, 2006-2007

Vicki L. Ruiz, 2007-2008

Philip J. Deloria, 2008-2009

Kevin K. Gaines, 2009-2010

Ruth Wilson Gilmore, 2010-2011

Priscilla Wald, 2011-2012

Matthew Frye Jacobson, 2012-2013

Curtis Marez, 2013-2014

Lisa Duggan, 2014-2015

David Roediger, 2015-2016