About these images


The Reproduction of Misery and the Ways of Resistance

The theme of this year’s annual meeting, “The Reproduction of Misery and the Ways of Resistance,” provided ASA members multiple paths for proposing panels and papers and engaging in the work of the Association. The submissions help to realize what we as Co-Chairs of this year’s Program Committee have seen as an especially rich opportunity to consider the systemic and ideological sources of the suffering that seems to spread more and more even as evidence of a gathering movement of change in the streets and on campuses becomes harder to ignore.

View the Online Program
Program Book for the 2015 Annual Meeting
Register here to begin an ASA membership and for the annual meeting.
General Information
Exploring Toronto
Visiting Canada

American Studies Association Awards Ceremony (2015)

The American Studies Association is proud to recognize the continuing high level of scholarship examining our American cultures. We ask all members of the Association to join in congratulating their fellow members to be honored at this year’s award ceremony at our annual meeting in Toronto, Canada.

The Awards Ceremony will be held on Friday, October 9, 7:00 to 8:00pm, Sheraton Centre, Civic Ballroom Foyer (Waterfall Garden) with champagne and non-alcoholic beverages available to toast and cheer this year’s fantastic award winners! We hope to see you there!

For additional information about the ASA Awards Program, click here

More From the Editors


Featured DH Caucus Events at #2015ASA

2015 Critical Prison Studies caucus events at ASA Toronto

Twenty-four sessions in the program for the 2015 ASA annual meeting have the keyword “Prison Studies.”  See a full text of Prison Studies related program listings here (put “Prison Studies” in the “search” box for the specific listings).

click to download CPS panels/events flyer (PDF)

that reception we’re co-sponsoring again with the E+C Caucus, and

and there’s so much to look forward to at next week’s A.S.A.! Meanwhile, here’s text that materialized earlier today at the EARLY AMERICAN MATTERS Caucus’s Facebook page—

NEXT WEEK’s A.S.A. in Toronto will have a bunch of early-American-flavored moments, as you’ll see in the update that’s now on display at our low-tech website, http://www.earlyamericanmatters.fsu.edu. Please note:

<> our Business Meeting will be on Saturday, Oct. 10, but not at 8:00 [a.m.] as originally scheduled; instead we'll meet at 11:30 (so yeah, please watch [at our Facebook page] and at the website for details about where : )

<> meanwhile, yep, once again we’re hosting a fine RECEPTION / CASH BAR with our friends in the Environment and Culture Caucus, on whose behalf York University’s Faculty of Environmental Studies is co-sponsoring this year’s event, along with the American Antiquarian Society! Won’t you join us?

—and as for the location of this year’s Reception / Cash Bar, which’ll be Friday beginning at 4:30, it’s at EPICURE, 502 Queen St., W, http://www.theepicure.ca. Looking forward,—Dennis Moore, .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

ASA Studentsí Committee: Schedule of Events

Check out these graduate student-oriented events coming up at the Annual Meeting of the American Studies Association in Toronto.

News from the War & Peace Studies Caucus/ ASA 2015 is Near!

Greetings ASA War and Peace Studies Caucus!
I hope this message finds everyone well and in good spirits during this usually quite hectic time in the semester. As we all know, ASA 2015 is upon us! Here are a few notes/updates regarding next week’s conference.

Material Culture events in Toronto

Thirteen sessions in the program for the ASA annual meeting have the keyword “Material Culture.”

See a full text of Material Culture related program listings here (put “Material Culture” in the “search” box for the specific listings).